Deschutes Water Alliance

The Deschutes Water Alliance (DWA) was formed in 2004 to plan for long term water resource management in the Deschutes Basin. The DWA believes that it is possible to simultaneously meet new and existing demands for water in the Basin, whether they are from agriculture, cities, or rivers. This will happen through the cooperation and voluntary participation of the key water suppliers and users in the basin. The DWA presented many of its findings at the Deschutes Basin Water Summit, which occurred in May 2006.

The Deschutes Water Alliance is comprised of the following stakeholders:

The Deschutes Basin Board of Control (DBBC): an association of irrigation districts that includes North Unit, Central Oregon, Swalley, Tumalo, Three Sisters, Arnold, and Ochoco.

The Confederated Tribes of Warm Springs (CTWS): focused on managing resources as sustainable assets available for cultural, subsistence, economic and social purposes

Deschutes River Conservancy (DRC): a non-profit organization with a mission to restore streamflow and improve water quality in the Deschutes Basin

Central Oregon Cities Organization (COCO): includes representatives from the cities of Bend, Culver, Madras, Maupin, Metolius, Prineville, Redmond, and Sisters

The vision of the DWA is simple: uses of water resources in the Deschutes Basin are balanced to serve and sustain agriculture, urban and ecosystem needs.

The mission of the DWA, intended to achieve this vision, contains three elements:

  • Move stream flows toward a more natural hydrograph while securing and maintaining improved instream flows and water quality to support fish and wildlife
  • Secure and maintain a reliable and affordable supply of water to sustain agriculture
  • Secure a safe, affordable, and high quality water supply for urban communities